Vlogs, Wrap Ups

January Wrap Up

Well January turned out to be a more productive reading month than expected, I finished the month on 13 books. When I say 13, I mean that I had finished 13…I also had 4 other books that had made decent progress in but hadn’t managed to finish. So I’m aiming to have those finished for February and at the time of writing this, I’ve managed to finish one so let’s count that as a success. It very much seems like my month was brought to you by the number 3 as I had 6 books that ended up being 3 star reads. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing though.


My wrap up in vlog form

I’m going to post my books, rankings and links to their reviews below. I do want to say that I’ve recently made a conscious effort not to write reviews for books that I’ve rated with 1 or 2 stars because I feel really guilty. So no reviews for the lower rated books but I do mention them on the vlog. I haven’t written a new review for Luckenbooth since my original review back in November but I’ll pop the Reading Scottish link there since I talk about it a lot there.

5 💫
Under the Whispering Door- TJ Klune✨ https://kapowskireads.com/2022/02/02/under-the-whispering-door/

4 💫
Luckenbooth-Jenni Fagan https://kapowskireads.com/2022/01/31/reading-scottish-january-wrap-up/
The Man in the Brown Suit- Agatha Christie https://kapowskireads.com/2022/01/19/the-man-in-the-brown-suit/
Scabby Queen- Kirstin Innes https://kapowskireads.com/2022/01/08/scabby-queen/
Secrets of the Last Merfolk- Lindsay Littleson https://kapowskireads.com/2022/01/22/secrets-of-the-last-merfolk/

3 💫
An Unwelcome Quest- Scott Meyer https://kapowskireads.com/2022/02/05/an-unwelcome-quest/
Call of the Penguins-Hazel Prior https://kapowskireads.com/2022/01/29/call-of-the-penguins/
Double Deception – Barbara Angela Kealy* https://kapowskireads.com/2022/01/12/double-deception/
Faery Tales of the Future- Kate Phyre*
The Hiding Place- Jenny Quintana* https://kapowskireads.com/2022/01/25/the-hiding-place/
The Second Worst Restaurant in France- Alexander McCall Smith https://kapowskireads.com/2022/01/15/the-second-worst-restaurant-in-france/

2 💫
The Sanatorium- Sarah Pearse

1 💫
Velocity of a Secret – Violet Marsh*

*#gifted

I forgot to say that I didn’t review my short story 3 star read of Faery Tales of the Future because every time I tried to write a review it ended up having spoilers. I just couldn’t find a way to write about it without ruining it for anyone who may pick it up and I don’t want to be that person.

How was your January in books? I’d love to know how you got on and what your favourite book was. My favourite book of the January (also known as Caley’s Book Recommendation of the Month That Nobody Asked For) was Under The Whispering Door by TJ Klune. It gave me everything I wanted and everything I needed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s